بقلم: ألكسندر فانت ريت، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة “ماي دبي”

يشكل الطلب المتزايد على الطاقة الكهربائية والتركيز الكبير على حماية البيئة، أحد أهم العوامل الرئيسة التي جعلتنا نوجه الأنظار نحو مصادر الطاقة البديلة. وبالرغم من توفر مجموعة متنوعة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، إلا أن الطاقة الشمسية تبقى المفضلة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وذلك نظراً لوفرتها ولإمكانية استغلالها بسهولة في توفير الكهرباء من دون التسبب في إصدار المزيد من انبعاث ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي. وفي هذا الإطار، تنظر “ماي دبي” إلى الطاقة الشمسية على أنها البديلة المستدامة للطاقة الكهربائية وتناسب احتياجات الشركة بصورة مثالية.

وتُعتبر الاستدامة من القيم الأساسية التي تبنيناها في “ماي دبي”، إذ تنعكس في مختلف جوانب الإنتاج والعمليات الخاصة بنا. وقد أولت “ماي دبي” منذ تأسيسها أهمية كبرى للوعي البيئي، حيث نقوم بقياس البصمة الكربونية ليتسنى لنا المقارنة والتطوير المستمر لتحسين مساهمتنا في حماية البيئة عاماً بعد عام. وإن اعتمادنا على الطاقة الشمسية ليس إلا تأكيداً على التزامنا بتقديم منتجات ذات جودة عالمية وسط التزام بيئي متكامل.

تحتاج كل منشأة صناعية إلى الطاقة الكهربائية لتسيير عملها وإتمام عمليات الإنتاج والتعبئة الخاصة بها، الأمر الذي ينطبق على “ماي دبي”، حيث أدى النجاح الذي حققناه في الأسواق، والذي أثمر عن زيادة الطلب على منتجاتنا، إلى نمو الحاجة للطاقة الكهربائية، ومن هذا المنطلق أدرك المساهمون في الشركة أهمية التصرف بمسؤولية حيال البيئة وضرورة التخفيف من أية آثار سلبية محتملة، مؤكدين على ضرورة الانتقال إلى مصادر الطاقة الشمسية المتجددة.

ويعكس هذا الجانب التزام الشركة بحماية البيئة، حيث يتم تشغيل المصنع ومبنى المكاتب الرئيسية على الطاقة الشمسية، مما أدّى إلى تخفيف انبعاثات الكربون بمقدار 10000 طن متري سنوياً. وتشتهر هذه المنشأة بامتلاكها ثاني أكبر سقف للطاقة الشمسية في العالم، كما تُعرف “ماي دبي” بأنها الشركة الأكبر التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية في الشرق الأوسط، ونحن نفخر بحيازة مكتبنا الرئيسي على شهادة “ليد” للريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئي.

مما لا شك فيه بأن الطاقة المتجددة هي السبيل الأمثل للحصول على الاستدامة البيئية، لذا اتخذت “ماي دبي” في هذا الشأن سلسلة من الخطوات الاستباقية مواصلةً تقديم منتجات عالية الجودة ومبتكرة وآمنة وتوفير خدمات فاعلة مع الاحتفاظ بدورها النموذجي ضمن ممارسات الإنتاج المستدامة.

By Alexander van ‘t Riet, CEO of Mai Dubai LLC

Our rising demand for electricity and an increasing focus for the environment are among the leading factors that make us turn to alternative sources of energy. Although there is an array of renewable energy sources that are available, the sun’s energy is one of the most preferred forms of clean energy in the UAE because it can easily be harnessed to provide electricity without emitting carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Solar energy is a sustainable alternative source and suited perfectly to the needs for Mai Dubai.

Sustainability is one of the core values of Mai Dubai, which is reflected in every aspect of our operations. Since its inception, Mai Dubai has attached great significance to ecological consciousness. Reflecting this belief, the company had its carbon footprint measured so that they would have something to benchmark against and improve upon year after year. The use of solar energy highlights our commitment towards producing world-class quality products in a responsible manner.

Every single industrial facility requires electrical energy either during its production or packaging stage. We at Mai Dubai are no different. In fact, our incredible success in the market has increased the demand for our products, and consequently the need for electricity. The shareholders of the company knew it was important to act responsibly and to manage any potential impact on the environment, hence they supported the move to solar.

This is truly where Mai Dubai stands out in terms of its environmental responsibility. The factory and its adjacent office building run fully on solar energy, abating 10,000MTs of carbon emissions annually. The facility is known for having the second-largest solar roof installation in the world and is the largest solar-powered company in the Middle East. The head office is LEED certified.

There is no doubt that renewable energy is the path to energy and environmental sustainability. Mai Dubai has already taken great steps in this direction and continues to provide high quality, innovative, safe products and efficient services while remaining a role model for sustainable production practices.