بقلم: ألكسندر فانت ريت، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة “ماي دبي”

يميل العملاء للحكم على الكتاب من عنوانه، ويُمعنون النظر إلى المُنتج قبل شرائه. ويكتسب المظهر العام للمُنتج أهمية كبيرة في تكوين الانطباع الأول، وبالتالي حسم القرار بالشراء. وهنا تكمن أهمية التغليف لأنه يلعب دوراً في اقناع المستهلك بالشراء من النظرة الأولى، ويُسهم فيما بعد بتحقيق الولاء للعلامة التجارية.

عند اختيار وتصميم تغليف المُنتج، يجب أن تسأل نفسك أربعة أسئلة أساسية. السؤال الأول: هل تلفت طريقة التغليف أنظار العملاء؟ السؤال الثاني: هل يُعتبر فتح المُنتج لاستخدامه مُريحاً بالنسبة للعملاء؟ السؤال الثالث: هل نال تصميم المُنتج وتجربة استخدامه استحسان العملاء؟ وختاماً، السؤال الرابع: هل يُعتبر التخلص من تغليف المنتج سهلاً للعملاء ويمنحهم احساساً بالالتزام بالمسؤولية تجاه البيئة؟

وفي “ماي دبي”، نولي أهمية كبيرة للإجابة على تلك الأسئلة. فإذا نظرت إلى عبواتنا بتصميمها الفريد، ستلحظ الأشكال الماسية واللون الأحمر الذي يلفت الأنظار ويزيد الاقبال على “ماي دبي”، وتلك هي الإجابة على السؤال الأول. وفيما يتعلق بالإجابة على السؤال الثاني؛ تمَّ تصميم عبواتنا المصنوعة من الزجاج و”تريفثالات الأثيلين المتعدد”، وهو البلاستيك القابل لإعادة التدوير، بطريقة تضمن سهولة الاستخدام وتحقق رضا العملاء، وذلك من خلال توفير الأحجام المتعددة لتلبية مُختلف الاحتياجات. ويقدم مذاق “ماي دبي” المميّز، بشهادة المستهلكين، الإجابة على السؤال الثالث.

أما السؤال الأخير، فتشمل الإجابة عليه لحظة الحقيقة فيما يتعلق بحماية البيئة. يعكس المنهج الذي تتبعه “ماي دبي” في التغليف التزامنا الراسخ بقيم الاستدامة من خلال خفة الوزن وقابلية إعادة التدوير، إلى جانب تبني منهجيات استباقية في عمليات جمع العبوات الفارغة. ويمتد العنصر البيئي ليشمل كافة أنشطتنا؛ على سبيل المثال، يعتمد مصنع “ماي دبي” على الطاقة الشمسية بنسبة 100%، ويغطي ذلك عمليات معالجة المياه، ونفخ العبوات، والتعبئة والتغليف والتخزين. فضلاً عن ذلك، تتصف عبواتنا البلاستكية بأنها قابلة لإعادة التدوير بالكامل، في حين تمتاز عبواتنا الزجاجية بشكلها الأنيق وبكونها صديقةً للبيئة.

على صعيد منهجية العلامات التجارية في تصميم عبوات المياه، من المهم التمسُّك بسمتين أساسيتين: الشفافية والوظيفية. من الناحية الوظيفية، يجب أن تضمن العبوة سلامة المياه، وتحافظ على خصائص المياه المعدنية الطبيعية، وتستوفي مواصفات النقاء والمعايير المكروبيولوجية.

لقد شهدنا العديد من التطورات في مجال تعبئة المياه على مدار السنوات، سواء كان ذلك على صعيد التعبئة الرئيسية (العبوات والأغطية والملصقات على العبوات) أو التغليف الثانوي (أغلفة وصناديق حُزَم العبوات). على سبيل المثال، شهدت العبوات البلاستيكية انخفاضاً كبيراً في وزنها خلال العقود الماضية، حيث تعد العبوات البلاستيكية بحجم 1.5 ليتر حالياً أخف وزناً بنسبة 37% عما كانت عليه، أما العبوات الزجاجية فقد أصبحت أخف وزناً بنسبة 30% عما كانت عليه قبل عقدين من الزمن. ويكتسب هذا التحول أهميةً بالغة لأن العبوات الأخف وزناً تستخدم كمية أقل من المواد الأولية، وتخفض تكاليف النقل، وتجعل العملية الإنتاجية بمُجملها أكثر فعالية من حيث استهلاك الموارد والطاقة.

ولا تقل السمة الثانية، ألا وهي الشفافية، أهميةً عن السمة الأولى، فالعملاء يريدون أن يروا بأنفسهم عذوبة وأمان المياه، وأن تكون موضوعةً في عبواتٍ شفافة. وتستخدم “ماي دبي” البلاستيك القابل لإعادة التدوير على نطاقٍ واسع، إلى جانب الزجاج، مع الالتزام باستيفاء أعلى المعايير الخاصة بمواد العبوات. ومن هذا المنطلق، نركز في “ماي دبي” على استخدام العبوات الذي تُظهر المنتج بوضوح وتَسهُلُ إعادة تدويرها، ونتجنب استخدام العبوات متعددة الطبقات والتي تَصعُبُ إعادة تدويرها.

بالنسبة للإيطاليين، يأتي التصميم قبل كل شي؛ وبالنسبة للألمان، فالأداء أولاً. إذا استطاعت علامةٌ تجارية الجمع بين التصميم والأداء، عندها تكون قد نجحت في تحقيق الهدف المنشود في مجال التصميم. ركزوا على الناحية الجمالية للمُنتج لجذب أنظار المُستهلك، دون أن يكون ذلك على حساب الناحية الوظيفية. كلما كان التصميم أكثر لفتاً للأنظار، كلما نجح أكثر في باستقطاب المستهلكين. ويعتبر التصميم جيداً إذا أعطى لمنتجٍ معين هويةً متفردة، وأتاح سهولة الاستخدام، وكان له أثرٌ إيجابي بيئياً.

ويجب أن يعكس التصميم هوية العلامة التجارية، ويلخص رسالتها الأساسية. وبما أنَّ “ماي دبي” ترمز لمدينة دبي، وجدنا أنَّ التصميم الفريد لعبواتها يشكل فرصةً لعكس الناحية الجمالية للمدينة.
يمثل التغليف المناسب عنصراً أساسياً في نجاح العلامة التجارية، ويفسح المجال أمام تعزيز الكفاءة. ومن شأن اتباع نهجٍ متكامل في تصميم العبوات أن يرتقي بالعلامة التجارية لمستوياتٍ جديدة من التميُّز.

By Alexander van ’t Riet, CEO of Mai Dubai LLC

Customers tend to judge books by their covers. Consumers ‘feel’ a product with their eyes before actually buying it. Therefore, the overall look of a product is important to create a good first impression, that “first moment of truth”. This, in turn, can be converted into lasting brand loyalty. This is why packaging matters.

There are four moments of truth you need to consider while zeroing in on your product’s packaging. Start with the question ‘does it catch customer’s attention.?’ After that, think about how convenient it is for a customer to open and use the product. Follow it up with ‘did the consumer like the taste and experience of the product’ and finally, ‘will the disposal of our packaging make it easy for the customer and make him/her feel environmentally irresponsible.?’

At Mai Dubai, we take the answers to these questions very seriously. If you take one look at our iconic bottle, you will notice the diamond shapes and the striking red colour that adds to its shelf appeal. That checks the first box. Second, our PET and glass bottles have been designed keeping convenience and use by consumers in mind; the right sizes, the right format for any occasion. Given Mai Dubai’s superior taste, which consumer panels reconfirm time and again, do justice to the third moment of truth.

Lastly, the disposal and environmental moment. Mai Dubai’s packaging reflects the values of sustainability we adhere to: light weight, recyclable, and more and more proactive collection activities for the empty containers. But it doesn’t end there. In fact, the environmental element extends to every aspect of our operations. For instance, Mai Dubai’s factory is 100 per cent powered by clean, solar energy. This means everything from water treatment, to bottle blowing, filling, packing and storage runs on solar energy. Apart from that, our PET bottles are 100 percent recyclable, while glass bottles are also appealing to eco-minded customers.

In terms of packaging design of a bottled water brand, there are two main characteristics that need to be kept in mind – functionality and transparency. For the functional role of packaging, it is important to ensure maintaining the integrity and unique qualities of natural mineral waters and to preserve the microbiological standards and purity.

Over the years, there have been lot of developments in the area of bottled water packaging, with regard to both primary (bottles, caps and labels) and secondary packaging (film, pallets and crates). For example, the weight of PET water bottles has significantly reduced over the last few decades. To be more precise, a 1.5 litre PET bottle is now about 37 per cent lighter than it was few years ago. Glass bottles are 30 per cent lighter today than 20 years ago. This shift is significant as lighter bottles use fewer raw materials, reduce transport costs and make the overall process more energy and resource efficient.

The other characteristic, transparency is equally important. Customers want to see for themselves how pristine and safe the water is. Consequently, they want drinking water to be packaged in transparent bottles. Mai Dubai uses PET extensively along with glass bottles, all of which meet the standards of ideal packaging materials. This is why we, at Mai Dubai, focus on packaging that both shows the product, and can easily be recycled (unlike less recyclable multi-layer boxed containers

Allow stereotyping for a moment: For Italians, it is all about design, while functionality is the king for Germans. If a brand can come up with a perfect combination of these two, it is considered to have nailed packaging. Build on aesthetics -so that it attracts- but at the same time, make sure functionality is not compromised. The ‘catchier’ the design is the more audiences will be attracted to it on the retailer’s shelf. A good packaging will clearly differentiate the product from competitors, and the ultimate will allow for easy use and a positive environmental message.

The design should be able to capture the brand’s identity and convey its core message as well. Since Mai Dubai symbolizes Dubai, embodying the aesthetics of Dubai city in the design was necessary and a great opportunity.

Right packaging design is essential for the success of a brand, and if done well provides many opportunities for optimization. A holistic approach to packaging design can truly take a brand to a whole new level.